Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Divebomb
Hello everyone
I'm relatively new in SIM racing. Can you make me understand the true meaning of the term 'divebomb' ?
Thank you
Emanuele
IMO
dive bomb is a racing slang and refers
to the attempt to pass a car by breaking extremly late, that late that
- they wont make the corner in a proper way
- they will cross the racing line of the car infront.
More often than not, the late breaking will result in locked wheels and sliding in the car that turns infront.
In general, the front wheels of the passing car should be at least at the height of the back wheels of the car infront, at the moment the cars turn in for a corner. In that case the passing attempt is legit and both drivers should be prepared to go 2-wide in a corner, therefore leave enough space for the other.

An epic dive bomb can be seen at Monza T1 where people 3+ carlenths behind will dive in on the inside, lose control and scoop up multiple cars infront of them bc "there was an opening"
[i]Hit the apex,  goddamnit![/i]
Ok thanks for your reply..
But if I am next to the other car and force the braking going slightly long leaning on the car I'm trying to overtake?
(01-14-2023, 04:12 PM)Emanuele Calarco Wrote:  Ok thanks for your reply..
But if I am next to the other car and force the braking going slightly long leaning on the car I'm trying to overtake?
if you are side by side before braking point (or turning point if no brake needed) its not really a dive i guess
(01-14-2023, 10:59 PM)Handy Hanafiah Wrote:  
(01-14-2023, 04:12 PM)Emanuele Calarco Wrote:  Ok grazie per la risposta..
Ma se sono vicino all'altra macchina e forzo la frenata andando un po' a lungo appoggiandomi alla macchina sto provando a sorpassare?
se sei fianco a fianco prima del punto di frenata (o del punto di svolta se non è necessario il freno) non è proprio un tuffo, immagino
Thank you
Each case is different