Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Increasing racing quality
My 2 pence on the topic:

I do understand, that it can be very frustrating for experienced and fast guys to be in the same race with "newbies" who haven´t yet practiced car and/or track enough yet and therefore can be a "safetyrisk". And to be fair, not long ago I was one of them guys, too. I am fairly new to SR and SRS and the last competition was my first complete season. And I made all the mistakes, a rookie does. I attacked to harsh in gaps where was not enough space at all, I braked too hard and lost control of my vehicle regularly and - because SR is so much fun to me and excites me - I took part in races, without having driven the car before. Like I said, all the mistakes a rookie does, I did them.

BUT: only because of those (sometimes stupid) mistakes, I could improve. The reaction of the guys I had incidents with, made me realize how you should behave on the track and that fair racing and respect for your race-mates are key-values of SRS. By observing quali-laps of the fast guys, I could see their lines and adapt my approach for certain corners, which helped me to improve my pace quite a lot. By racing series randomly without having pracited the car yet, I realized that I have to focus on certain competitions and can´t do them all. And only in racesituations I leanred how a car reacts, when something unforeseeable happens at the track. And I am sure, that I am not the only rookie, who feels this way.