Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lap times: Ford Sierra RS500 DTM at Mugello
Hi guys,

Dusted off my G27 and re-installed AC recently. I'm again experiencing the frustration of getting nearer to the front of the grid. At Mugello, for example, I somehow managed 2:05:xx but normally I'm in the high 6s or 7s.

Mind you, I did realize just hours ago, that - using Content Manager - I'd forgotten to switch from Gamer to Pro mode and so I was still using 100% Stability Control and maybe ABS and Traction Control. That kind of explains why the car felt different online lol.

What I want to know is whether you guys that are turning 2s and 2:01s are on Pro mode and/or using a tweaked setup?

I was running the default setup and really don't know where to start with setup changes.

Could any of you, for example, come close to those times with default?
I'm no expert simracer and I only have like 200 hours in AC but I did get into the 2:01:xx timings both when practicing and in the race (even had the rare win this weekend!). From my experience (at least), you find the vast majority of time on the brakes, and the acceleration coming out of the corners (good lines would also help with that a lot).

Setups *do* help, but not to the extent some people think they do. Sometimes setups hurt you more than the base if they are not decent. One thing that I didn't expect is how deep the RS500 can go in the braking zone. I was thinking with it being a BTCC car from the 80s that it would be weak on the brakes, but I gained plenty of time when I just started throwing it into the corners, and for the amount of time in the race (20min), you don't really lose time from tyre deg because they don't have the time to degrade much!

As for your question at the end, when I was practicing the combo for the first time with default setups I got into the high 2:02 times but I'm sure I could have got it a bit lower if I stuck with the default.