Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Defense and attack
Question 
After the last race, I really feel I need some suggestions on defense and attack moves.
My passive and super safe behaviour lost me two positions in the last lap of the Toyota GT86 race of 13:00 GMT (which somehow didn't log into SRS, by the way), and I think it's time for me to "grow" a little in that side of the game...
I'm still slow compared to most of people around here, but when I'm matched with people around my skill I can only gain the position after a clear mistake and can't complete a efficient defense move, losing a lot of time and (often) the position after the turn.
As a fellow rookie, I don't think I can offer any useful advice since more seat time is probably the best way to improve your racecraft. However, here are some videos that I found interesting which shed some light on the thought process behind offensive/defensive moves. These Youtubers are quite popular, so you might already know them.
Empty Box's Sim racing 101 series: https://youtu.be/MCgdtiLYQfo
And several Driver61 videos: https://youtu.be/VHRAkIaWL_4 and https://youtu.be/o2WFz5DCoKk
Well, i want to help you, but it isn't that easy to just remember a formula and just use it in race, also i'm not a pro, you need practice and race can go cluster-foo very quick.

First i would always advise to armor up and be ready for some iSalt, some folks can drive aggressive and then became *surprised pikachu face* when someone is done with their poo acts and takes matters on their hands (closing the door late, dive bomb ultra-late-braking, starting to bumping you from the middle of track when you are squished to the line). Try to keep your line and if somebody dies off you, then do what people mostly do, ignore iSalt boomerville. "If he/she dies, he/she dies"